Student Spotlight

Kenn Scott
Kenn Scott, former Ninja Turtle and current curator of the children’s enrichment program, Zoomeez, is a graduate student in Tarleton’s Curriculum and Instruction program.

Born in New York, raised in North Carolina, and indoctrinated to the camera by 22 years in Los Angeles, Kenn Scott moved to Fort Worth about three years ago. Since arriving in Texas, Kenn has started a consulting company, a children’s enrichment program, and a master’s program. 

A lifelong learner with a desire to continuously evolve, Kenn Scott took one free MOOC class offered through Tarleton’s College of Education, and decided to pursue a master’s degree in Curriculum and Instruction. Kenn said his degree has not only fostered more effective marketing and communication skills, but it has also helped him to be a better consultant through utilization of adult education principles. In addition, his educational experiences have aided in the development of his children’s enrichment program Zoomeez, featuring original music, dances, and videos that help fight the growing trend in childhood obesity.

Learn more about Tarleton student, Kenn Scott, in this student spotlight.

COGS: Tell us a little about your experience in the movie/TV industry before moving to Fort Worth.

KS: When I was a kid, my goal was to become an action hero in the movies. I studied martial arts, and tried to learn everything I could about the movie business by watching documentaries or reading magazines. I went to college and got a degree in Film and Television from the University of North Carolina. Armed with film and martial arts knowledge, I drove about 4 hours to Wilmington, North Carolina, where a movie studio had been built and had started making independent action movies, such as Fire Starter with Drew Barrymore, and Maximum Overdrive with Emilio Estevez. Trying to figure out how to break into the movie business, I met the women in charge of casting extras. They found out I was a martial artist, and said ‘hey, you could try out for the movie we have coming called Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles.’  I thought it sounded cool, tried out, and was hired to be one of the bad guys in the Ninja Turtles movies. Later, the guy doing the Kung Fu and action for Raphael was hurt, and couldn’t wear the turtle outfit anymore, so I graduated from playing a bad guy to being Raphael the Ninja Turtle. That changed my life from that point forward. 

It’s kind of funny: Early on, I was trying to figure out a way into the movie studio to meet people, so I got a Domino’s Pizza delivery uniform, a couple of Domino’s pizzas, and drove up to the security gate. This was before 9/11, so security wasn’t like it is now. I told the security guard, ‘hey, I got a delivery for production in the back lot.’ He looked at me, looked at his clipboard, and I got nervous. Then he said ‘okay, follow this line and drive on through.’ I drove to the back parking lot area, took off my pizza delivery uniform, and watched them shoot an action cop movie.

raphael
Kenn Scott as Ninja Turtle, Raphael.

COGS: How did you learn about Tarleton’s graduate programs?

KS: I was first exposed to Tarleton through the Fort Worth Chamber of Commerce. I started asking about what to look into, and did online research. Ultimately, I came across Dr. Credence Baker from the Department of Curriculum and Instruction. Tarleton was offering a free online course, and I signed up just to see what it was all about. I got involved and it seemed really cool. It all worked out from there. 

COGS: What is a graduate degree from Tarleton going to do for your career?

KS: The reason I’m doing this is because I want enrichment. I believe that pursuing this degree makes me a better communicator, and a more evolved human being in dealing with others. In addition, this degree supports me in becoming a better marketer, an education subject-matter expert, and helps me actually educate my clients, thus being a better consultant for them. Overall, this pursuit is enriching my life from both a personal and business point of view.

COGS: What are your ultimate goals and plans?

KS: I moved to Fort Worth and put myself on a three year plan. At the end of those three years, I want three things to happen: I want my consulting business to be thriving and recognized, I want to have a master’s degree, and I want Zoomeez to be an up and running, revenue-generating, children’s enrichment program. Fortunately, I am halfway through my graduate degree, my consulting company is thriving in Fort Worth, and we are in the studio shooting videos and recording music that we will be using for Zoomeez on TV infomercials. It is working out, and Tarleton has played a part in helping me do all of that.

Kenn and tiger
Kenn Scott poses with a fan.

Other Information:

Kenn Scott Consulting, Inc.:  Kennscott.net 

Zoomeez:  https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PLpMW_lYmjoiMLuEkJ-ubuUV3vhdL2gAh1

One thought on “Student Spotlight

Leave a Reply

